What I’ve been watching: Dunkirk

Disclaimer: It’s not exactly a film where I could give away spoilers, but if you haven’t seen it and don’t want to know anything about it prior to seeing it, I would advise against reading this. Until you have seen it at least.

I am a great lover of Christopher Nolan and his films, The Dark Knight Trilogy, The Prestige, Interstellar, and my personal favourite, Inception. So I knew when Dunkirk was released I would have to go and see it.
The line up of Actors also didn’t disappoint, Tom Hardy, Mark Rylance, Kenneth Branagh and Cillian Murphy to name a few. Harry Styles also had a major role and was pleasantly surprising. My mum didn’t even know which one he was until the very end of the film. He had clearly taken this as seriously as people had hoped. 

The film follows a week on the beach, a day on the sea, and an hour in the air and how each part had such a vital role to play in the evacuation of the soldiers from the beaches. There is not much dialogue, but it doesn’t seem necessary. The musical score is incredible and the action alongside it makes it a film where the visual effects far outweigh any script. 

I could not recommend this film enough. This is his best film for sure, I could quite easily go to the cinema and watch it again already. 

Leave a Reply

